Hang on to your dream.

ANDERS-Ernst-2It is difficult sometimes, when there are so many things for you to do. You have a job to hold on to, run your home, catch up on your tax filing, take the kids out on weekends, watch your favourite comedy show late in the nights… your life is just like so full. So where is the time to pursue your dream; forget pursuing, there are many of us who have just dumped it in the back-drawer of memories and just forgotten all about it.

Every once in a while, when you are doing some spring cleaning (mentally), you find that dream – now withered, corners at the edges turned up, the words and visions slowly fading away. You look at it with love, turn it over in your mind and wistfully wonder how your life would have been if you had actually pursued it. And then, the phone rings somewhere, bringing you back to the present. You hurriedly pack away the dream and there it goes – into the back-drawer till the next session of cleaning.

This is what has been happening to my dream of being a writer for the last 20 years. Yes, that is a long time, but well, I am a hoarder and as I mentioned elsewhere on this blog, I hold on to my diaries that I have written over 20 years ago. So my dream sits, carefully packed in my cupboard of life. Till this spring, when I took it out, dusted it off, and decided to actually make it a part of my everyday life.

This blog is a small but earnest attempt at living my dream. It invites me to write more often, get it up and share it with my readers. Sure, the numbers are small yet, but they are growing. With each post I put up, I have 2-3 new bloggers choosing to follow me, a couple of older ones who sweetly stop by and leave a comment or like. To me, that is part of living my dream, to know someone somewhere has read what I have written and expressed.

It makes me happy, to know that while the road may be long and tedious, I am walking towards my dream of being a published author: self-published or otherwise… one post, one page of my story, one poem at a time.

For those of you who are on the same journey as I, let me reassure you, being an artist, a creative person is a lonely walk to the horizon. If you have set up a blog or a website to share your work, keep at it. With all the millions of people surfing the internet every moment, you can be sure, your work will strike a chord with someone somewhere. Hang on to your dream; it will come true. It may take a while, but it will come true.

~ Bharti Athray

Image Source: lalitoutsimplement.com

14 thoughts on “Hang on to your dream.

  1. Sin-Mae

    I just had an idea. Have you heard of this website called Blurb.com? You can be a self publishing poet or author if you like. After you generate your book you can choose to have them sell it for you or you can basically create one for personal keep sakes.. I intend to use that site one day to publish some photography or a portfolio.

    Reply
    1. Bharti Athray Post author

      No, I have not heard of Blurb.com, but now will definitely check it out. Sounds good. Do let me know when you do publish with them, meanwhile, lets stay connected 😉

      Reply
      1. Erik Conover

        Bharti I recently came across a quote that I think you will benefit from. Your blog is taking steps in the direction you want to go, the beginning is always the hardest.

        The most courageous thing you can do in life is to do what truly makes you happy

        Erik

      2. Bharti Athray Post author

        That is a powerful quote, Erik, Thank you for sharing. I think in the business of living our everyday lives, we forget what truly makes us happy. Am going keep this close to me, I am sure it will keep me writing. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Johns6dl

    Bharti, I find that this post really strikes a chord with me (to use your words). I started my blog only 4 months ago, but already am seeing the benefits. We just have to remember that these are baby steps, but they are steps nonetheless.

    Reply
    1. Bharti Athray Post author

      Yes, and the blogosphere is a great space to connect, share and stay motivated. Thank you for stopping by, and your encouraging comments. It means a lot. I just need to remember to keep going no matter what!

      Reply
  3. Geet

    Bharti I have been reading your blog. Its really great to see how one can pursue their dreams only if they initiate it. Thats the step, the hardest one. Thanks for inspiring.

    Reply
    1. Bharti Athray Post author

      True, Geet. Too easy to give up on our dreams and let years slide by. I just want to work on this and look forward to encouraging others to pursue their dreams as well. Thank you for visiting and commenting. Hope to see more of you around 😉

      Reply
      1. Bharti Athray Post author

        Thanks for the link. Checked it out and did like it. I like this part:
        For a true writer each book should be a new beginning where he tries again for something that is beyond attainment. He should always try for something that has never been done or that others have tried and failed. Then sometimes, with great luck, he will succeed. (Ernest Hemingway).

        Hemingway has been one of my favourite authors for decades, he is insightful, writes simply and yet his work is very powerful. Guess this article is a good indicator of his secret of success! Thanks for sharing

  4. Pingback: He Said, She Said: Bloggers Edition. | Manuscript. Head. Drawer.

Leave a Reply

