How do you choose your words while blogging?

This post in response to a query from my fellow blogger, Geet, on one my recent posts. Her question was, ‘How do you include language and words in written material that you don’t normally use while speaking?’

Well, personally I like to keep my writing simple, easy to understand and nice to read. The language I use while writing my blog and my creative pieces is pretty much the language I use in my regular conversation. The only difference I think comes in the crafting of language that comes in when I write. As expert bloggers everywhere in the blogsphere advise, check and edit your piece before you put it up. After all, your readers are giving you their time and nobody wants to spend time reading a poorly worded or garbled piece. To me, using the language correctly is pretty much like making the right use of your implements if you are a craftsperson.

96075-004-794F6786A sculptor will mess up her piece if she uses her tools in any random way she likes. And as for colloquial usage of language, it is fine for dialogues, but as for narratives, I prefer them to be well written.

Does this make a piece boring or characterless? I would not think so. I would much rather that my story, the characters that populate my story stand out, not just the language. After all, language is but a medium, it is not my message.

And in the hope of writing well crafted pieces, I constantly read work that is shared and posted by some really brilliant writers online. Here I would like to share a couple of blogs that, to me, are really good examples of language well used:

  1. Rajiv Chopra: http://rajivchopra.me/2014/07/28/a-cup-of-tea-before-i-go-on/
    Sharp, insightful pieces that get to the point. Extremely well written, lets you enjoy the language and the content.
  2. Anthony Wilson: http://anthonywilsonpoetry.com/2014/07/30/holidays-not-term-time/
    Writes really brilliant slice of life kind of poems, articles, conversations. Shares some excellent poetry from other poets.
  3. Skipmars: http://skipmars.wordpress.com
    You just have to read him to get his brilliant sense of humor and enjoy his command of the language.
  4. Frausto: http://urbanpoetrees.com/
    Disturbingly good poetry from a completely different part of the world. I thoroughly love exploring his blog.
  5. Ivon Prefontaine: http://ivonprefontaine.com/
    Powerful, insightful prose and poems, written in simple English, with profound meaning.
  6. Luggage lady: http://luggagelady.net/2014/07/19/redefining-happy/
    I have only recently discovered her blog, but the sensitivity and gentleness in her work reaches out to me.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank these writers for sharing their works with us online and inspiring us to create better, more meaningful posts that can change perspectives.

Geet, do check these bloggers out, they are far better writers than I am, all well-accomplished and have lots to offer aspiring writers such as you and me. Hope you enjoy reading them as much as I do!

~ Bharti Athray

Image source: kids.britannica.com

7 thoughts on “How do you choose your words while blogging?

  1. Erik Conover

    My writing style is influenced by Thoreau’s deep reflection on personal experience, John Steinbeck’s keen social perception, and Jack Kerouac’s spontaneous prose, all mixed into something that I can call my own.

    Writing for a blog is all about writing content that is shareable and adds value to the audience.

    Erik
    http://erikconover.com

    Reply
    1. Bharti Athray Post author

      Dear Erik
      Thank you for sharing how your writing style has evolved. Being a student of Literature, I think some of the key influences on my writing style have been Edgar Allen Poe, D H Lawrence, T S Eliot (though I recently read somewhere that he seemed to be writing for himself), John Keats (simple, eternal truths that really remain with you for life), and the timelessness of Shakespeare’s work.

      As a student, I was amazed to see Shakespeare’s ability to create fiction and capture emotion as he does, for no matter where or when you read his plays, you are sure to identify with some character in that play. If any of us writers can do that, I think you are sure to be a success. He really knew what he was writing about.

      As for modern writers, I have enjoyed Steinbeck as well, I like reading period novels and watching period films. I love the research and effort that the creator puts in to each element of his creation. And of course, there are lots more influences that affect my writing on a day to day basis, people’s perspectives, styles and themes – I draw inspiration from them all.

      Thank you for sharing your style inspirations, I think I am going to go catch up on some of mine! cheers.

      Reply
  2. geetknowingherself

    Thanks Bharti. Really grateful for this post. A bear hug your way! I shall read it all over again to properly absorb it down me and apply it in my writing. Another question for you: so you have spoken about crafting your writing. I ain’t a writer, so I really haven’t worked on crafting great copy. I do read. Will that help? And I write the way I speak in my day to day life. But I feel that it sometimes lack the craft, the richness of the language, like the way many writers like you have. Well, I guess I am just trying to get into the mind and heart of a writer, just to know what brings great writing on the table? So i could try doing the same and come up with interesting writings for my audience.

    I would really appreciate your comments and feedback on whatever I write. Look out for me. Will soon update.

    Reply
    1. Bharti Athray Post author

      You are very welcome, Geet. A bear hug right back to you! As for your second question, yes, reading helps – always. For me, when i read the work that I like, I tend to read quite a bit of it at a stretch. And if I want to express myself in that style, I find that it comes easier to me once I have spent some time reading a certain style. It’s pretty much like picking up an accent while you speak. When you are surrounded by people who speak in a certain accent, over time you tend to start speaking like them. So i would definitely suggest reading works of writers who inspire you, over time, you are sure to find the voice that matches theirs. Good luck on that. And keep writing. And enjoy yourself while you do!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

