A mother’s prayer

His tiny hand reached out for mine, i could hear his ragged breathing as the early morning sun edged closer to the horizon. ‘Mama’, he whispered sleepily, ‘is it morning yet?’
‘Mmm? No… Not yet, dear, go to sleep. I will wake you up when it is time.’ So saying I patted his little black head to sleep.

As he lay near me, his little body curled up next to mine, how I wished I could freeze this moment in time. To always have my children close to me, to love them unconditionally, to receive unconditional love… To feel wanted and needed in the world. What more could I ask to be happy? Except that this moment should last forever.

~ Bharti Athray

Leave a Reply

