LISTENING TO THE GREAT AUTHOR

1-the-nativity-scene-gino-rigucci

I just happened across a couple of inspiring articles telling me to listen to the Great Author’s voice. Who is the Great Author? Christ, Krishna, Allah, God… or whoever you pray to. The article says if as writers we will only let the Great Author speak through us, we will always have a story to tell. I thought that was a brilliant suggestion and decided to give it a try, and voila! I had a story – here it is.

It being Christmas season, my little boy was telling me about the Christmas songs they were learning in school. At all of 6 years old, there were some lines he could remember and some he forgot. We sat together on the bed for a while and sang them together.

You see, we are Hindus living here in Mumbai and Christmas is a lovely season for the children. The malls and neighbourhoods are all decked up, there is a nip in the air, the kids get a break from school and most of all, they get gifts. To them, that’s Christmas.

So as we discussed about what was happening in class, I told him why we celebrate Christmas. I told him the story of the birth of Jesus, of the 3 kings, and the gifts they brought for the little King. I told him about how the animals in the manger kept the little baby warm that cold December night, for they knew he was a special baby.

I held my boy’s tiny hands and breathed onto them, warming them. His eyes lit up with glee. He wanted to know which animals were there in the manger, and whether they knew they had to be gentle with the baby. It was a lovely session we had and I was glad to have had the chance to tell him this beautiful tale.

A couple of days later, as we were winding up for the day, his conversation buzzed around the Christmas party that was happening in school the next day. Suddenly, he looked at me with a proud glint in his eye and said, “Mama, today teacher asked us about the story of Baby Jesus, and I told her the whole story!”

“Really? That’s nice, what did she say?”

“She said, very good, and asked me who had told me the story. I told her, My Mama!” He walked over to where I sat and gave me a tight hug and mumbled into my side, “Thank you for telling me the Baby Jesus story and about the animals and how they kept little Baby Jesus warm!”

Before I could react or hug him back, he let go and ran off in a flash to check out what his brother was upto in the other room. It was a beautiful moment for me, it made me happy to be a mother, to weave the threads of imagination for my little boy.

In that instant I realized, it really does not matter how many times a story has been told, if you find the need, tell it again – in your very own way. It will make sense to someone out there, somewhere – who will love the magic you bring to the tale.

So here’s a big thank you to the Great Author, for being a true inspiration, and helping me create these lovely memories with my children. And also a big thank you to Guy Gourley for advising me to listen to His Voice.

If you would like to read the article that inspired this one on the Great Author, click here.

Here’s wishing all of us here a wonderful Christmas season.

~ Bharti Athray

Leave a Reply

