WHY DO YOU WRITE?

Listen to any of the talks on creative writing and this is one question that successful writers tell you to find an answer to, repeatedly.

So after a fair amount of introspecting, here is what I came up with.

  1. I write because I can.
  2. I write because I enjoy writing, I have done it ever since I can remember.
  3. I write because it’s the only way I know to get my chattering mind to shut up.
  4. I write because it lets me have a dialogue with all the multiple voices inside my head, and listen to all their perspectives. That’s a little difficult to do when all I am doing is listening.
  5. I write because it allows me to create something from my thoughts, it gives me a sense of accomplishment.
  6. I write to share, to reach out to others who also enjoy writing and reading.
  7. When I write, it is a call I send out to the universe – my silent SOS message – to reach out to others like me.
  8. I write when I feel sorry, when I feel something is not right with the world. I tend to write better when things are not as they should be. Unfortunately, that means I need to be sad or morose when I write.
  9. I write because I am upset with the world and have no other way of expressing my anger, my despair, my hurt.
  10. And at times, I write. Just like that.

Why do you write, what are your reasons? Do share.

Leave a Reply

