THE SUSPENSION OF TIME

A moment in time,
Stands still. Like stop motion photography
In an action thriller.
I see it – right there in front of my eyes
That single drop of rain, reflecting the green leaves around.
It hangs in mid-air by a string I cannot see.
My mind, my thoughts are in a limbo
Hypnotised by the rain drop suspended in time.
I dare not breathe. I dare not blink.
I fear I will break the spell. In that single moment
I experience thoughtlessness. Emptiness, that Osho speaks of.
At long last, I breathe out, the spell is broken.
The falling rain continues in straight lines from the sky.
My moment of magic is done.

~ Bharti Athray

Leave a Reply

